24,428 courses · 2,504 curriculum guides Sponsored by eAgentic Software Sponsored by eAgentic Software

Child Development Practicum

CHD2440 — CHD2440
← Course Modules
6 credit hours 270 contact hours Prerequisites: Daytona State publishes this at 6 credits. Admission to the early childhood programme is not stated as a requirement, but Level 2 background screening is required before any placement with children, and certain offences are disqualifying - establish eligibility early. Consult your programme's published curriculum plan. v1.0

Course Description

Child Development Practicum is designed to provide students with a supervised internship in a selected educational program for young children.

Within the SCNS taxonomy, CHD is the Child Development and Early Childhood Education prefix. Daytona State publishes this at 6 credits, giving approximately 270 contact hours.

Within the SCNS taxonomy, CHD is the Child Development prefix. Daytona State publishes this at 6 credits with a $5.00 lab fee, requiring permission of the chairperson. ⚠ The catalog does not state the terms of offering — confirm with the programme.

⚠ How the contact hours here were derived

Daytona State publishes no contact hours for this course, and no other CHD course provides a comparable anchor — every other published CHD course is a 3-credit classroom course at 45 hours. A supervised internship is not a classroom course, and pricing it at the lecture convention would give 90 hours, which is implausibly low for a 6-credit supervised placement.

The figure of 270 hours used here is derived from the convention this repository has pinned for level I supervised fieldwork in allied health — 45 contact hours per credit (Daytona State's OTH1800 is published at 1 credit and 45 hours). Six credits at that rate gives 270, which also matches the common internship convention of roughly three hours per week per credit across a term. ⚠ This is a reasoned estimate rather than a published figure — confirm the actual required hours with the programme, since what governs is the hours the placement requires and records.

The practicum is where the programme becomes real. Everything in the classroom courses — planning, observation, guidance, family communication — is straightforward in principle and difficult with twenty actual children in an actual room. This is also, for most students, where they find out whether they want to do this work, and that is a legitimate and valuable outcome either way.

Daytona State does not publish a lecture and laboratory split for its CHD courses, but the prefix convention is consistent: every published CHD course at this institution runs at 3 credits and 45 contact hours — 15 hours per credit (CHD1220, CHD1430, CHD2320, CHD2334 and CHD2801 are all published at that rate).

Learning Outcomes

Required Outcomes

Optional Outcomes

Major Topics

Required Topics

Optional Topics

Resources & Tools

Career Pathways

Special Information

⚠ Behaviour guidance — what actually works, and what makes it worse

⚠ Getting the most from a placement

⚠ Developmentally appropriate practice is the organising idea — and it is more demanding than it sounds

⚠⚠ Supervision and safety — the failures that actually happen

⚠⚠ In Florida, everyone is a mandatory reporter of child abuse — including you

⚠⚠ Working with young children in Florida requires screening and specific training

How Florida course levels affect transfer

The first digit of an SCNS number denotes the year of offering, not transferability. Courses at the 1000 and 2000 levels transfer transparently between Florida public institutions, and 3000 to 4000 is unproblematic since both are upper division. The boundary that actually matters is 2000 to 3000, where lower-division credit generally cannot satisfy an upper-division requirement.

CHD2440 is 6 credits and approximately 270 contact hours at Daytona State.

⚠ Level 2 background screening is required before working with children in Florida, and certain offences are permanently disqualifying — establish your eligibility before investing in this pathway.


Generated September 3, 2026 · Updated September 3, 2026